PDA

View Full Version : I always feel terrible about making these...

Graph
04-17-09, 06:50 PM
They seem so one-sided to me. I wouldn't go up to a total stranger and rant for three minutes about my life. Why should you all endure it? I'm sure you're more accepting than the average person... I mean, we're all here for the same reason, right?

I guess I should at least try to be concise. I'm Graph. Graph Desino. The Writer Formerly Known as Graphic Description. Whatever you want to call me.

I signed up on Althanas for the first time about... oh, two years ago, give or take. I was a novice in the art and trade of writing, and massively overestimated my own skills. I was young, naive, and stupid as hell (evident when you read my old posts on here). Cockily, I thought, oh man, I'm going to conquer this website, be the best writer they've ever had, and do it before the week is out.

I entered one battle and lost...

No. Not lost. I was destroyed, beaten into bite-size chunks, eaten, excreted, and eaten again. Yeah, that's more fitting.

In disgrace, I left Althanas, acting ironically similar to my poorly-defined, semi-lit character. I was terrified to return, knowing I'd have to feel the agony of my own self-esteem bursting into flame. But I wrote, and practiced, and became progressively more self-deprecating. And, with ego somewhat more in check, I signed up again, two eternal years later.

So, here I am. Ready for another bashing.

Graph

Rahegalhoff
04-17-09, 07:13 PM
Welcome back. Egos are terrible burdens, yet graceful blessings. When it is as large as you claim yours once was, when it has girth to rival that of the sun itself, it is a terrible burden, and forces you to do foolish things for it's own sake. Yet when it is small, perhaps as small as a chihuahua, of the teacup variety, it is a blessing for it gives you that small boost of courage that says "yes I can."

Anyways, unasked for advice aside, here's hoping round 2 is better, and longer, than round 1.