PDA

View Full Version : Roleplaying style?

Slavegirl
11-05-09, 10:44 AM
When you write, do you come up with a highly developed storyline and THEN set your character down into and try to fit your character to the plot?

Or do you just come up with a basic idea and then let your character lead the way from Point A to Point B, and fit the plot to your character?

Or do you do something else entirely?

Personally, I tend to make a basic outline, and then let my character connect the dots in whichever way he or she decides to drag me through the story. I do plan some, but mostly it's just brainstorming and listening to my characters scream at me (or sometimes whisper, which is quite annoying) exactly where they want to go and what they want to do, and sometimes, whose butt they want to kick. It's frustrating, exciting, and exactly why I'm addicted to this site.

What about you?

Visla Eraclaire
11-05-09, 11:25 AM
I'm an option B writer as well. A vast majority of my stories are simply a premise in which I place my character. There are no foregone conclusions and frequently I'm only able to figure out what will happen as the story progresses and the characters react to one another organically.

The only problem with this is that it ends up with stories which are more realistic but less dramatic. Perhaps it's how things really would have gone, but it's not always something that would interest the audience.

That's why I try to run through the story as a thought experiment before I write anything so that it can look more like a Type A version with all the authenticity of Type B. Occasionally I will manipulate the plot to get necessary reactions from a character by asking myself, "I need Visla to feel or do X, what would make her do that?"

I think that's perhaps an even more extreme version of the second option. Not only are you not shoehorning a character into a preexisting plot, you're forcing the plot to conform to certain desired outcomes of character.