PDA

View Full Version : What's your Althanas story?

Minako
05-04-12, 02:23 AM
I've been on Althanas, and its many reincarnations, since I was about 16 years old. When I was younger, I wanted so badly to either be a musician, or a novelist. Specifically, a fantasy novelist - I was, and still am, a huge fan of LOTR. Now, I'm 23. I've abandoned my rock star dream, but picked up a different kind of pen. I'm a journalist/entertainment writer, looking for my first real job post-university. I'm interested in haute couture, the glamorous life of the celebrity, and the blogger uprising.

Despite all this adult responsibility, I absolutely cannot keep away from Althanas. When I'm not active, every so often I check up on what's going on, see who's ruling the boards. When I am active, I try to participate in as much as I can. Nevertheless, there is something about this site that keeps me coming back. For seven years. But this isn't just about me: new people, old folks, what's your story?

Letho
05-04-12, 01:22 PM
Though I joined Althanas some eight years ago, I've been writing stuff since I was like 11 or so (my first piece of writing was actually a sappy poem which I still have somewhere in a box). And of course, once upon a time I too dreamed of making it big as a novelist. But being on Althanas has made it clear to me that I don't really have a stamina to be one. And reading books made it clear that I'm probably never going to be good enough to be one. Well, not without some additional education, but I feel that train has left a station a long time ago as I'm 30 now. So that as they say is that.