PDA

View Full Version : New player here for adventures! ... I hope

Cicilix
09-22-13, 04:28 AM
Hiya! I found this site a few days ago and yesterday I finally got my character together and I'm now waiting for her to get approved c:
I've roleplayed a lot before, both online with the ordinary system of play by post but also the real deal with pen and paper. That's probably why I really liked this site when I found it because it is the perfect combination between the too :D (And I'm currently forever alone in a new town so I haven't got people to roleplay with there yet...)

But I'm still new to this so I was wondering if anyone had some tips of how to get started or if there's anything I should know or do? :3

Otto
09-22-13, 05:34 AM
Hello! And welcome :)

Getting started here is pretty easy. The first thing you'll need to do (if you want to role play in any IC forum other than the Nexus) is submit a character sheet (http://www.althanas.com/world/forumdisplay.php?7-Character-Registration) for approval. You can find the guidelines for that here (http://althanas.com/world/faq.php?faq=start#faq_welcomegettingstarted). The approval process is pretty much just to make sure that people don't start with unrealistically powerful characters (which aren't usually any fun to write with, anyway) - apart from that, there's a lot of flexibility. The profile submission forum is accessible from the main page, and the 'getting started' guidelines are available in the 'rules section, which you can reach from the navigation bar at the top (and which also has lots of other useful information).

Now, if you want a character that fits in with the lore/canon of Althanas, you can look up each region's history and other information in a few ways. First, there is usually an introductory post available in each region's forum. Second, you can get an in-depth look at the different areas from the wiki page (accessible via the navigation bar). And third - you can ask us about them.