PDA

View Full Version : A New Way to Curse

Good for Nothing Captain
10-27-13, 08:35 PM
Hi!
So, I've come to realize that in the world of Althanas there are a great many interesting and profoundly creative ways to make someone feel like a so-and-so. Buuuuuuut, as a newbie I have no ideas what kind of slang terms and vernaculars are popular in a world so wide. I just wanted to see if anyone had any particular insights to add, any terms or phrases they preferred to use, or a system to come up with them. I know that every character is free to speak in any way they want but I think changing things up every now and then is an important part of keeping things interesting.

Anyone?

Breaker
10-27-13, 08:44 PM
There's one I use occasionally that I think The International came up with... calling someone a "Coronian Captain" implies bossiness, it's a turn of phrase I generally use with Salvic characters, but really anyone not from Corone could use it.

I also created two curses of my own linked with Salvar - "Berevar's Blanket" is one and a "jilted glacier" is the other. Rather than try to describe this from an OOC perspective, I'll just post a snippet from the thread that it originated in.

Mordelain
10-27-13, 08:44 PM
I've coined jihta for Fallieni, meaning bastard if said of a male, or bitch of a female.

Aurelianus Drak'shal
10-27-13, 08:48 PM
And I have the entire Sigil vernacular for my tiefling darling.

Some of it is pretty obscure, but it's usually easy enough to work out from the context.

Breaker
10-27-13, 08:59 PM
So it means "without a father" to a male, and "female dog" to a female? That is a complex piece of language :P

Here's a heavily redacted snippet that should explain my salvic curses a bit: