PDA

View Full Version : Religions

Thoros Mir
12-26-13, 12:35 PM
Hi there! I'm pretty new to Althanas and am working on my first character. I'm planning on making him a Cleric themed character but am having some difficulties finding information regarding popular religions around Althanas. It could just be I'm not looking in the right places! Could anyone point me towards more info to help me flesh my character out a bit more? Thanks for any help in advanced!

Krausus
12-26-13, 12:59 PM
The only formal "Religion" i can think of is the Church of the Ethereal Sway

At that theres a TON of informal ones, such as the one in Fallien. But, for more info, have a chat with Christoph (http://www.althanas.com/world/member.php?2221-Christoph)

EDIT-Refer to the post below.

Zook Murnig
12-26-13, 01:15 PM
There's the previously mentioned Church of the Ethereal Sway, which, unless I'm mistaken, has lost a lot of power since the events of the Featured Quest, when St. Denebriel was revealed to be one of the ancient Forgotten Ones and defeated. The Church of Suravani, in Fallien, is very much an official state religion there, and the Jya (pope) of that religion is also the political leader of Fallien. As well, in Raiaera, there is a more deist approach to religion, with a pantheon of gods and goddesses who created the universe, but don't take active roles in it anymore.

As for "unofficial" religions, there are several player-developed examples. The main one is the worship of the Thayne, a group of individual godlike entities who are neither good nor evil, but kind of operate on a completely amoral set of standards. As well, there is the Sinai people, both the Aminim of Fallien, and the Naurim of the rest of the world, who worship their own monotheistic religion. I'll be posting a wiki article on that religion soon, but there's already an article on their culture and a little of the religion, and you're welcome to extrapolate from that.

Christoph
12-26-13, 01:54 PM