PDA

View Full Version : Please don't die on me (OPEN)

Djakara
12-25-06, 11:31 PM
(Open, as long as you talk with me in the recruitment thread (http://www.althanas.com/world/showthread.php?p=45890#post45890) first)

“The thing is, I could let this go, but I just can’t…” Djakara began. “I keep having these dreams, that I’m a soldier, or a diplomat, or sometimes it’s just that I’m a schoolboy who goes out of the yard to play…”

The older man shook his head. He was less than impressed. “Everyone has dreams,” he declared gruffly. “Thing is, you learn with age just how little the fuck they matter. A few wishes here and a good intention never brought us anything but war…”

Djakara bit his lip at the mention of war. There was so much he wanted to say on the subject, but felt as if he couldn’t. The moment he were to open his mouth, it would be like a damn had ruptured and nothing but a lifetime’s worth of sublimated emotions would surge through. The word war, especially from the lips of someone so old, brought nothing but bitterness to Djakara’s lips. He felt particularly betrayed by the old people, the ones who had been around and able to have stopped the war from ever occurring.

However, now was not a good time to talk politics. Dystopia was one of the few cities still controlled by the Republic. In the Republic zones, there was no discussion of politics allowed, especially discussion of the causes of the recent war. While they may have been torn asunder, it seemed that the Republic’s armed forces had fared a bit better than the average citizen, and so in areas like Dystopia, Djakara knew to bite his tongue.

Though it had not been his intention, Djakara soon found that the old man had taken his silence for agreement. “You’ll find I’m right when you’re sixty, even if it’s hard to swallow now…” the older man had said, with a voice that seemed to assume wisdom was a natural right of ageing.