PDA

View Full Version : So... uh... wth happened to my user title?

Sorahn
04-26-07, 10:38 PM
Just noticed tonight that my user title has now turned to "Novice", with no means of me changing it.

Looking through some other threads it appears this has happened to everyone except moderators and admins.

Normally something this superficial wouldn't really bother me but I have had the same title since I started on here, like over 4 years ago, and I don't see why we need to take them away now, and make them for mods/admins only.

What else rather bothers me is the new titles appear to be based on post count alone. That shouldn't label a person on a RPG forum as it has no bearing on experience.

Again, I guess it's not really that big of a deal, but if anything I would rather not have spent 4 years on this board and obtained level 3 (yes I was inactive for a while) only to be labeled a "Novice". Just because I don't post everyday in threads in the Flying Stone doesn't mean I'm a novice.

Cyrus the virus
04-26-07, 11:20 PM
Despite how much you say it isn't a big deal, you sure seem to be making it one. I kind of understand the frustration, but really, is it that big of a deal?

We've reset them in order to make them less common and more of a priviledge, I suppose. We'll likely replace 'novice' and the like in the near future. More importantly, I think most people are smart enough not to consider you a novice just because it says that under your user name.

Dissinger
04-26-07, 11:28 PM
If you do decide to change them, you should probably come up wiht more neutral names. Hero and novice seem too over the top, especially if the character is a villain.

Journeyman is good. I could maybe see wanderer. However I agree, it kinda was nice being able to make your own custom user title.

Sorahn
04-26-07, 11:30 PM
It's not a big deal, except that I didn't see the need for the change. "If it ain't broke don't fix it" ya know?